All Saints Anglican Church, Ziwaka Road, Near the Public Hospital, Pyin Oo Lwin.  Diocese of Mandalay, Province of Myanmar
 

Vicar: Rev Joseph Yin Oo

Email address: allsaints@mail4u.com.mm  (No. 12 on the town map)

Services: Wednesday, Friday 0730, Sundays 0830.  English Services 2nd and 4th Sundays

 Home

About Pyin Oo Lwin

Calendar

Getting Around

Health & Safety

Photo Gallery

Real Estate

Travel Agencies

Trekking

What to See

Where to Eat

Where to Shop

Where to Stay

Memoires

Churches

Pagodas

Mosques

The unique windows in All Saints' Church were restored in 2005

 

This lively church, founded in 1912, is of great historical interest to visitors.  Besides being the guardian of the Christian Cemetery, it was, in colonial times, the Church of the Government.  It is situated at the foot of 'Governor's Hill' where the summer time Government House stood until it was destroyed in World War 2 by Japanese bombing.  A faithful replica of Government House has now (2007) been rebuilt on the original site.

 

Amongst the items of special interest are:

  • The Foundation Stone was laid in 1912, the Church consecrated in 1914, and the tower was eventually completed in 1927.

  • A Garden of Remembrance commemorates those who gave their lives for this country between 1899 and 1950 and are now interred in the old European Cemetery.  Records of names and locations are available from the Vicar.  The creation of this garden was made possible through a grant from the British Association for Cemeteries in South Asia.

  • A unique and priceless stained glass window in memory of Rodway Swinhoe (died 1927, more information ) was restored by Mr David Knowles of Godstone Glass, Surrey, UK, in 2005.  At the same time the Church was completely redecorated by an anonymous donor.  The photograph on the left is a composite of the panels when they were being restored.

  • Following a Service of Remembrance (60 years after the ending of World War II) in 2005, several shields and plaques were donated to the Church by various Regiments which served in Maymyo before and during the war.  These are now on permanent display and provide part of a record of activity in those times.

  • The Church Bell was cast in London in 1926 and hung in 1927. It can be seen by arrangement with the Vicar.

  • The Church is responsible for the maintenance of the European Cemetery.  The Cemetery Register may be downloaded here.

  • Copies of 'Church Work in Upper Burma', (a fascinating insight into church work before 1950), are available from the Vicar.

  • Click here for a biography of Saya George (a pdf file, 512kb), and for many photographs of early Church Work in the Maymyo and Mandalay area.

  • Click here for the existing baptisms (236kb pdf file) and marriages (120kb pdf file) registers.

 

 

The original (1902) All Saints' Church is on the left. Note the unfinished belfry tower. This photograph was taken around 1914.

Taken about 1927. The tower is finished, but the stained glass windows not yet installed. Pictures kindly provided by Mrs Anne Carter in 2007.

All Saints' Church, Pyin Oo Lwin

The East End

Belfry spiral staircase

The 1926 bell

The bell shoulder

The bell mechanism, restored in 2005

A wooden plaque in memory of the Burma Rifles. All other wooden plaques have been lost or destroyed

An unusual view of the East End, taken from scaffolding erected for the restoration of the West End Memorial windows

Side Chapel Cross, 1929

The 10th Gurkha Memorial in the Sanctuary

The Altar

Lectern donated in 1945 by the Welch Regiment in memory of the first Christian Service after the departure of the Japanese at the end of WWII

The Memorial windows to Rodway Swinhoe, designer of the Maymyo Botanical Gardens

The South Porch, leading to the Garden of Remembrance

These beautiful and unique windows were restored professionally in 2005 through the generosity of many donors

 

Please visit the Pyin Oo Lwin Guestbook to record your comments